Orange Forum • View topic - GSoC participation: Social platform for Orange

GSoC participation: Social platform for Orange

General discussions about Orange and with Orange connected things (data mining, machine learning, bioinformatics...).

GSoC participation: Social platform for Orange

Postby toma » Mon Mar 21, 2011 17:22

I was planning to get involved in this years GSoC ever since it was announced and was thrilled when I found out (trough a student outlet) that Orange was accepted as a mentoring organization, since it’s based at the same faculty I’m currently enrolled.

After a short chat with Miha trough Skype, he directed me to this forum and advised me to write a short introduction.

About me: My name is Tomaž Kovačič and I’m in my final year at previously mentioned faculty of computer and information science in Ljubljana. With a couple of exams left to finish, I’ve already started working on my diploma thesis. I have interests in web development in general and lately machine learning combined with information extraction. (part of my diploma thesis is wrapped around it)

My proposal for GSoC 2011: While reading trough your list of proposals, the following one has particularly caught my eye and has my name written all over it :D : Social platform for Orange.

Skills and competences:
- Apart from studying I’ve been heavily involved in web development, mostly with python + django.
- I’ve used python for nearly every school project that required programming.
- I’m already familiar with contributing to existing pythonic open source projects (python-graph library committer and contributor) and have released some of my own.
- Developing with django since its 0.96 release
- Familiarity with several databases: mysql, sqlite and oracle
- Comfortable in a *nix like environment
- Familiar with best practices regarding django development and deployment (south, pip, virtualenv, fixtures, unit testing ...)