Orange Forum • View topic - GSoc-Regarding Time Series Analysis and Neural Network

GSoc-Regarding Time Series Analysis and Neural Network

General discussions about Orange and with Orange connected things (data mining, machine learning, bioinformatics...).

GSoc-Regarding Time Series Analysis and Neural Network

Postby shubhankit » Tue Mar 27, 2012 18:03

Hello,

I,Shubhankit Mohan,am a 4th year engineering undergraduate student at IIT Kharagpur,the best technology institute of the country.Being honest I am new to Open Source Development and I have never worked on any open source project before.I liked Orange as I have immense interest in coding, pure mathematics and algorithms.I have both a good programming background and a good mathematics background. I've worked in a number of programming languages including Python,C++ and Java. Mathematically, my strengths are largely in algebra,statistics and computing but I've taken courses in a variety of different subjects.

During my undergraduate studies,I have done extensive projects in time series and data analysis.During my summer internships as DBS Bank and Jade Hochshule,Germany,I used genetic algorithm,neural networks for financial data prediction and usage of neural network,ARIMA for computing dynamic GPS using live data feed.I undertook a research project in Gold-Silver Time series prediction using ARIMA,GA which culminated in publication of 5 papers in reputed international conference in the area of data analysis.

After looking at the suggested projects list I have found two projects to be especially interesting.

Idea 1:
I looked at the project ideas, and the project on Time-Series analysis which seems interesting to me. I have looked closely at the features/add-ons of Orange and needed to discuss with Mitar which could be utilized for integration into Orange.