Orange Forum • View topic - svmLearner in orange

svmLearner in orange

A place to ask questions about methods in Orange and how they are used and other general support.

svmLearner in orange

Postby tempovan » Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:25

Hi,,

I am a newbie to data mining stuff. My problems are these:

1.I have a feature vector in the form of list in python which i need to supply as input to svm classifier. But svm classifier in orange requires me to send a .tab file.How to map my python list to .tab file ?
May be a simple question. But i m asking this question after a lot of googling and going thru the forums

Please help in this regard

2.Orange.feature.Discrete is not working.It reports no such module exists

Re: svmLearner in orange

Postby Ales » Tue Apr 10, 2012 16:19

tempovan wrote:1.I have a feature vector in the form of list in python which i need to supply as input to svm classifier. But svm classifier in orange requires me to send a .tab file.How to map my python list to .tab file ?

I assume you already trained the classifier.
Code: Select all
import Orange
iris = Orange.data.Table("iris")
svm_l = Orange.classification.svm.SVMLearner()
svm_c = svm_l(iris)
# classifiy a new instance (the last "?" is the unknown class)
my_feature_vector =  [5.6, 3.7, 1.3, 0.0, "?"]
new_instance = Orange.data.Instance(iris.domain, my_feature_vector)
print svm_c(new_instance)

Postby Ales » Tue Apr 10, 2012 16:23

tempovan wrote:2.Orange.feature.Discrete is not working.It reports no such module exists

It should work. You might have an older version of orange. When (and how) did you install it?

Postby emwal » Mon May 14, 2012 18:15

Found same issue with missing classes.

Here is what I get in the iPython shell when trying to tab-complete off of Orange.feature

Code: Select all
In [67]: Orange.feature.
Orange.feature.continuization  Orange.feature.imputation      Orange.feature.selection
Orange.feature.discretization  Orange.feature.scoring         

.. no Discrete class